PB&J Lost

This is all that remains

Of the best PB&J

I’ve ever eaten.

Organic Peanut Butter,

Organic Blueberry Preserves,

On Sprouted Wheat Bread

With Almond Milk.

Then I think

Of all those PB&Js

I ate as a kid.

Generic Peanut Butter,

Generic Jelly,

On White Bread

With Plain Milk.

And I feel as though

I’ve lost something.

With all the freedom

Of indulgence

That being an adult brings,

Nothing could ever

Be sweeter

Than

Childhood.

Ā© Tyler M Deal. All Rights Reserved.

4 thoughts on “PB&J Lost

Leave a Reply

